Thursday morning the theater was packed with kids from preschool to sixth grade. They sat in their seats, some bored and some nervous. Some of them were excited and others didn't quite understand what was going on. Backstage, the actors were trying to calm their nerves and the extras just kind of chilled wherever until they were needed in the second scene. This performance was something each and every one of them would remember for a long time to come. The kids laughed and played along, cheering for the Emperor and booing the villains, even laughing at their 'punishment' at the hands of the Empressettes. 
My show was Saturday night, last night, and it was honestly one of the most fun parts I've ever played. I got to direct the show and play the mischievous, if not fun-loving and sassy, Minstrel (who narrates everything). I introduced scenes and foreshadowed exactly what was going to happen next. It was so much fun and the play went splendidly. I hope to be in productions like this in the future, because West is going to be my home for a couple years yet. 



Leave a Reply.